Fun links I’ve recently found

So, being bored during the summer, I’ve done my share of web surfing. Needless to say, this surfing just finds me stupid nerdy things for the most point, but the things I find that make me giggle make me want to share them :

The first spiffy thing that got my interest, I was reading about ebooks. You know, I really detest ebooks (I’m planning a blog to explain about why I do indeed, but that’s neither here nor there), one of the big reasons is because they just feel so artificial. You don’t get that wonderful book smell. I stumbled upon a Gizmodo link here, which explains that an ebook company is going to give out scratch and sniff stickers that smell like books with every ebook they sell. I’m really not into the smell of brand new books, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind the smell of fresh paper and glue, but what I reaaally love is the smell of moldy used books. This website addresses that, it has smells such as “Classic Musty,” “Eau you have cats,” “New book smell” and even “Crunchy bacon” (which it warns isn’t kosher or vegan friendly, keeping that in mind!) I still hate ebooks, but I’d kind of like to try some of these and spray them on my bookshelves! 😀

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Հաշի on July 29, 2010 at 4:39 AM

    I epicly hate e-books too and mostly for the same reason.

    I can’t actually concentrate on the screen long enough. Also having to scroll through piles of shit to get where you want is irritating. I mean, you have to scroll through two or three pages to find the contents and then sometimes the page numbers are off :/

    I find it so much easier to pick up a book in my hands and flick to the content I want. I can keep my fingers in a few pages to mark if I’m browsing and the zoom feature is simply amazing – move the book closer or further away to suit. And I do agree, I love the smell of old books, they’re all so different 😀 each a little surprise of their own. No amount of spray will bring that back.

    Oh, and if I go second hand book shopping, the comments in books sometimes are so priceless – something definitely not reproducible in e-books 🙂

    Reply

  2. I am with you Tyler. I hate ebooks, almost all the ebooks I have downloaded I almost always just end up buying the real thing. I love the feeling of going to Borders or Barnes and Nobel and walking out of the store with an actual book, and i cant wait to read it and page threw it when i get home. but with ebooks you dont get the feeling. theres no new book smell and an ebook never looks old and i think theres something really cool about having an old book and it looks like it got use. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

